AFDA 2024 Finalists


Stylecraft and the National Gallery of Victoria are pleased to announce the finalists shortlisted for the Australian Furniture Design Award (AFDA) 2024.

AFDA 2024 Finalists

Presented by Stylecraft and the National Gallery of Victoria (NGV), the biennial Australian Furniture Design Award (AFDA), now in its fifth iteration, celebrates creative thinking and research that explores innovative production processes, through professional mentoring, commercial production opportunities and a $20,000 prize.

Five entrants, selected from across Australia, have been invited to proceed to Stage Two and will present their realised designs for exhibition and judging at the Stylecraft showroom during Melbourne Design Week 2024.

The finalists for the Australian Furniture Design Award 2024 are:

  • Bala Ga’ Lili – Bonhula Yunupingu and Damien Wright
  • Marta Figueiredo
  • Michael Gittings
  • Nae Tanakorn
  • Supermanoeuvre + Tomkins Design

The 2024 AFDA jury comprises Ewan McEoin, Senior Curator, Contemporary Art, Design and Architecture at the NGV (Chair); Tony Russell, Brand Director, Stylecraft, Melbourne; Anne-Claire Petre, Founder Anaca Studio, Melbourne; Hamish Guthrie co-director Hecker Guthrie, Melbourne, and Elliat Rich, Alice Springs-based designer and 2017 AFDA winner. Competition Advisor for the 2024 Awards is Simone LeAmon, Curator, Contemporary Design and Architecture, NGV.

Congratulations to all 2024 finalists, we look forward to seeing your final designs in May next year.


Pictured top is AFDA 2020 Winner, James Walsh with the new Tuck armchair, designed exclusively for Stylecraft.